- Why does this spell not cap at level 20 but so many other spells do? What makes this one so special? -- 148.177.1.219
- Beats me. Some are capped and some aren't. Shrug. -- Alec Usticke 17:13, 2 August 2006 (PDT)
Could be the fact the it only gains an additional 1d6 every 3 caster levels so it being uncapped doesnt result in large amounts of damage since many spells gain 1d6 or more every single caster level -- 24.211.6.216
- I think it's more random than that. Flame arrow does 4d6 damage every four caster levels (mostly equivalent to 1d6 per caster level), but is not capped. Some decisions just seem to be arbitrary, such as the decision to cap earthquake at level 10, when no caster gets access to this spell before level 15. Accept it, and make it work for you. --The Krit 08:08, 16 July 2007 (PDT)
With regards to the second note (the one about this spell as a domain spell), is there something special about the clerical version? Isn't this really just a special case of globe of invulnerability blocking all spells with an innate level of 4 or less? (If so, the note should be changed and moved to globe of invulnerability.) Seems odd to single out clerics when bards and druids would also be subject to this oddity, so maybe I'm wrong about this. --The Krit 07:15, 26 June 2008 (UTC)
- It is different from druids and bards. Basically the clerical domain spells all work by spell innate (lowest) level while druids and bard innate levels are set at 5. So only clerical icestorm (and wizard/sorceror) will ever be blocked by the globe unless you modify spells.2da. GhostNWN 13:49, 27 June 2008 (UTC)
Cold damage at each 3rd caster level.[]
In the description area it states: "Ice Storm will do an additional 1D6 cold damage per additional 3 caster levels." However looking at the chart, it starts with 7th level and 4D6 damage, goes to 9th level and 5D6 damage, then starts jumping 3 levels, to 12th.. 15th.. so on. Is this right? Or should the chart start with 6th level? Grom56 02:33, 3 May 2009 (UTC)
The chart starts with level 7 because it is a 4th level spell as normally that is the minimum number of caster levels needed to be able to cast the spell. Yes, a palemaster can cast any arcane spell with as few as one caster level behind it. The equation is 3d6 bludgeoning + 2d6 cold + (caster level/3)d6 cold. WhiZard 06:59, 3 May 2009 (UTC)