FANDOM


Do negative levels reduce caster level? --RAMss 05:55, 8 September 2008 (UTC)

  • Yes they do, but casters are still allowed to cast the spells. A lvl 5 wizard after a maximized enervation would be still able to cast darkness, but it will only last 1 round.
Also de DC of the spells are reduced, the same wizard with a fireball of DC 16 would become a DC 12 fireball. --88.11.227.2 4 August 2009

The on-hit ability of weapons Edit

OnHit item effect drains only 1 level, right? ---TormentedOne 15:18, 4 August 2009 (UTC)

Feats immune? Edit

Are feats immune to the loss of levels? eg. level 6 monk losing knockdown abilities? --Iconclast 11:22, April 3, 2010 (UTC)

  • Level drain does not take away from class levels (GetLevelByClass()) or hit dice (GetHitDie()). What it does is it takes away from the caster level (GetCasterLevel()) corresponding to the class it is draining, so long as the caster level refers to a spell cast from the normal spell radial (that is spells from spellbook, ActionCastSpellAt... commands, and shifted abilities (noticeable in the ones that are or mimic standard spells)). Once all such caster levels are reduced to 0 or lower there is an instant death. Anything relevant to level-up (such as feats taken) is therefore unaffected by level drain. WhiZard April 3, 2010
  • "Once all such caster levels are reduced to 0 or lower there is an instant death."
    Re: Multiclass vs pure class: Assume a cleric 10/wizard 2 split. If the wiz caster levels go to 0 but not the cleric is it still death status? Or does it (GetCasterLevel()) select a class and then apply the level reduction only for that class? Can a single non-caster multiclass prevent the caster level death scenario?
    Note: Thanks for answering my original question, Whizard, didn't want to press my luck but am playing with house money.  ;) --Iconclast 21:03, April 3, 2010 (UTC)
  • Level drain is applied to the highest class caster level. Thus a 10 cleric/2 wizard split when hit with a single level drain for 12 levels will still be alive but have a cleric caster level of -2 and a wizard caster level of 2. If instead the build was hit with 12 level drains of one level each then the character would die. Even classes that never use caster level are affected as if they did (though there is no noticeable outcome in this respect). Thus a 10 rogue/2 wizard would still take the equivalent of 12 level drains of a one level each to kill it. WhiZard 22:09, April 3, 2010 (UTC)
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.